Call For Papers

Twelfth International Symposium on Functional and Logic Programming
(FLOPS 2014)
June 4-6, 2014
Kanazawa, Japan

FLOPS is a forum for research on all issues concerning declarative programming, including functional programming and logic programming, and aims to promote cross-fertilization and integration between the two paradigms.
Previous FLOPS meetings were held at Fuji Susono (1995), Shonan Village (1996), Kyoto (1998), Tsukuba (1999), Tokyo (2001), Aizu (2002), Nara (2004), Fuji Susono (2006), Ise (2008), Sendai (2010), and Kobe (2012).

FLOPS solicits original papers in all areas of functional and logic programming, including (but not limited to):

  • Language issues: language design and constructs, programming methodology, integration of paradigms, interfacing with other languages, type systems, constraints, concurrency and distributed computing.
  • Foundations: logic and semantics, rewrite systems and narrowing, type theory, proof systems.
  • Implementation issues: compilation techniques, memory management, program analysis and transformation, partial evaluation, parallelism.
  • Applications: case studies, real-world applications, graphical user interfaces, Internet applications, XML, databases, formal methods and model checking.

The proceedings will be published as an LNCS volume.  The proceedings of the previous meetings (FLOPS 1999, 2001, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2008, 2010, and 2012) were published as LNCS 1722, 2024, 2441, 2998, 3945, 4989, 6009, and 7294.

PC Co-Chairs
Michael Codish     (Ben-Gurion University of the Negev)
Eijiro Sumii       (Tohoku University)

PC Members
Lars Birkedal      (Aarhus University)
Michael Codish     (Ben-Gurion University of the Negev) [co-chair]
Marina De Vos      (University of Bath)
Moreno Falaschi    (Universita degli studi di Udine)
Carsten Fuhs       (University College London)
John Gallagher     (Roskilde Universitet / IMDEA Software Institute)
Samir Genaim       (Universidad Complutense de Madrid)
Laura Giordano     (Universita del Piemonte Orientale)
Ichiro Hasuo       (University of Tokyo)
Fritz Henglein     (University of Copenhagen)
Andy King          (University of Kent)
Oleg Kiselyov
Vitaly Lagoon      (MathWorks)
Shin-Cheng Mu      (Academia Sinica)
Keiko Nakata       (Institute of Cybernetics at Tallinn University of Technology)
Luke Ong           (University of Oxford)
Peter Schachte     (University of Melbourne)
Takehide Soh       (Kobe University)
Eijiro Sumii       (Tohoku University) [co-chair]
Tachio Terauchi    (Nagoya University)
Joost Vennekens    (KU Leuven)
Janis Voigtlaender (Universitaet Bonn)
Stephanie Weirich  (University of Pennsylvania)

Local Chair
Yuki Chiba         (JAIST)

Submissions must be unpublished and not submitted for publication elsewhere.  Work that already appeared in unpublished or informally published workshops proceedings may be submitted.  See also ACM SIGPLAN Republication Policy:

Submissions should fall into one of the following categories:

  • Regular research papers: they should describe new results and will be judged on originality, correctness, and significance.
  • System descriptions: they should contain a link to a working system and will be judged on originality, usefulness, and design.
  • Declarative pearls: new and excellent declarative programs or theories with illustrative applications.

System descriptions and declarative pearls must be explicitly marked as such in the title.

Submissions must be written in English and can be up to 15 pages long including references, though pearls are typically shorter.  Authors are required to use LaTeX2e and the Springer llncs class file, available at:

Regular research papers should be supported by proofs and/or experimental results.  In case of lack of space, this supporting information should be made accessible otherwise (e.g., a link to a Web page, or an appendix).  Papers should be submitted electronically at:


Important Dates
Submission deadline: December 13, 2013
Author notification: February 10, 2014
Camera-ready copy: March 7, 2014

Main Hall, Ishikawa Prefectural Museum of Art, 2-1 Dewa-machi, Kanazawa, Ishikawa 920-0963 JAPAN.

Some Previous FLOPS
FLOPS 2012, Kobe
FLOPS 2010, Sendai
FLOPS 2008, Ise

Japan Society for Software Science and Technology (JSSST),
Special Interest Group on Programming and Programming Languages (SIG-PPL)

In Cooperation With
Asian Association for Foundation of Software (AAFS)
Association for Logic Programming (ALP)