ICLP 2015

31st International Conference on Logic Programming
August 31-September 4, 2015, Cork, Ireland

In 2015, University College Cork (UCC) celebrates the bicentenary of George Boole, 1815-64. Born in Lincoln, Boole was a mathematical genius who was largely self-taught. His appointment as the first Professor of Mathematics at this college in 1849 provided the opportunity to develop his most important work, An Investigation of the Laws of Thought.

To mark the occasion, a number of international conferences will take place in Cork in 2015. The George Boole Bicentenary Celebration 2015 will be held in University College Cork over the weekend of August 28th 2015. The 21st International Conference on Principles and Practice of Constraint Programming (CP 2015) will be colocated with the 31st International Conference on Logic Programming (ICLP 2015), taking place from August 31-September 4, 2015.


The program included three invited talks

  1. Evelina Lamma: (Probabilistic) Description Logics
  2. Luc De Raedt: Using and Developing Declarative Languages for Machine Learning and Data Mining
  3. Gerhard Friedrich: Industrial Success Stories of ASP and CP: What’s still open? (joint with CP2015)

and four tutorials

  1. John Gallagher:
    Tutorial on analysis and verification of imperative programs through CLP (slides)
  2. Francesca Lisi:
    A brief guided tour along the borders of Logic Programming with Description Logics (slides)
  3. Thomas Lukasiewicz:
    Datalog+/-: A New Family of Languages for Knowledge Representation and Reasoning
  4. Marco Maratea:
    Abstract Solvers for Answer Set Programming

Complete list of regular contributions is available from the DBLP Database.

The program included the doctoral consortium and five workshops:

  1. International Workshop on User-Oriented Logic Programming (IULP 2015)
  2. International Workshop on Argumentation and Logic Programming (ArgLP 2015)
  3. Workshop on Constraint Based Methods in Bioinformatics (WCB 2015)
  4. Workshop on Probabilistic Logic Programming (PLP 2015)
  5. Workshop on Answer Set Programming and Other Computing Paradigms (ASPOCP 2015)

Moreover, during the social dinner participants attended a real Irish Dance Show.


General Co-Chairs

  • Barry O’Sullivan, University College Cork, Ireland
  • Roland Yap, National University of Singapore

Program Co-Chairs

  • Thomas Eiter, TU Wien, Austria
  • Francesca Toni, Imperial College London, UK

Local Arrangements Co-Chairs

  • Ken Brown, University College Cork, Ireland
  • Barry O’Sullivan, University College Cork, Ireland

Workshop Chair

  • Mats Carlsson, SICS, Uppsala, Sweden

Doctoral Consortium

  • Marina De Vos, University of Bath, UK
  • Yuliya Lierler, University of Nebraska at Omaha, USA

LP/CP Programming Contest

  • Neng-Fa Zhou, City University of New York, USA
  • Peter Stuckey, NICTA and the University of Melbourne, Australia
  • Antonius Weinzierl, Vienna University of Technology

Publicity Chair

  • Ian Miguel, University of St Andrews, UK

Program Committee

Slim Abdennadher, German University in Cairo, Elvira Albert, Complutense University of Madrid, Chitta Baral, Arizona State University, François Bry, Ludwig-Maximilian University of Munich, Pedro Cabalar, University of Corunna, Manuel Carro, Technical University of Madrid (UPM) and IMDEA Software Institute, Michael Codish, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Stefania Costantini, Dipartimento di Ingegneria e Scienze dell’Informazione, e Matematica, Univ. di L’Aquila, Alessandro Dal Palù, Università degli Studi di Parma, Marina De Vos, University of Bath, Marc Denecker, K.U.Leuven, Agostino Dovier, Univ. di UDINE, Thomas Eiter, Vienna University of Technology, Esra Erdem, Sabanci University, Wolfgang Faber, University of Huddersfield, François Fages, Inria Paris-Rocquencourt, Michael Fink, Vienna University of Technology, Thom Fruehwirth, University of Ulm, Sarah Alice Gaggl, Technische Universität Dresden, Maria Garcia De La Banda, Monash University, Laura Giordano, Dipartimento di Informatica, Universita’ del Piemonte Orientale, Gopal Gupta, University of Texas at Dallas, Michael Hanus, CAU Kiel, Tomi Janhunen, Aalto University, Michael Kifer, Stony Brook University, Angelika Kimmig, KU Leuven, Evelina Lamma, ENDIF, University of Ferrara, Joohyung Lee, Arizona State University, Joao Leite, Universidade NOVA de Lisboa, Michael Leuschel, University of Düsseldorf, Francesca Alessandra Lisi, Università degli Studi di Bari “Aldo Moro”, Thomas Lukasiewicz, Department of Computer Science, University of Oxford, Michael Maher, University of New South Wales, Canberra, Alessandra Mileo, National University of Ireland, Galway, Insight Centre for Data Analytics, Barry O’Sullivan, Insight Centre for Data Analytics, University College Cork, Ireland, Emilia Oikarinen, Aalto University, Mauricio Osorio, UDLAP, Enrico Pontelli, New Mexico State University, Maurizio Proietti, IASI-CNR, Rome, Italy, Francesco Ricca, Department of Mathematics University of Calabria,  Alessandra Russo, Imperial College London, Chiaki Sakama, Wakayama University, Vítor Santos Costa, Universidade do Porto, Torsten Schaub, University of Potsdam, Tom Schrijvers, KU Leuven, Yi-Dong Shen, Institute of Software, the Chinese Academy of Sciences, Guillermo R. Simari, Universidad Nacional del Sur in Bahia Blanca, Francesca Toni, Imperial College London, Paolo Torroni, University of Bologna, Irina Trubitsyna, University of Calabria, DEIS, Mirek Truszczynski, Computer Science Department, University of Kentucky, Kewen Wang, Griffith University, Jan Wielemaker, VU University Amsterdam, Stefan Woltran, Vienna University of Technology, Roland Yap, National University of Singapore, Jia-Huai You, Department of Computing Science, University of Alberta,Edmonton, Alberta, Canada, Neng-Fa Zhou, CUNY Brooklyn College and Graduate Center


Photo Gallery