ICLP 2003

19th International Conference on Logic Programming

December 09-13, 2003, Mumbay, India

Since the first conference held in Marseilles in 1982, ICLP has been the premier international conference for presenting research into logic programming. ICLP’03, the Nineteenth International Conference on Logic Programming will be a unique event in several ways. It will be organized in an integrated, theme-based way, with workshops, tutorials, invited talks and regular conference presentations grouped along key topics. Other new features will include a fully open poster session and mini-tutorials to introduce the more specialized sessions and workshops



The conference will be held at the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR) campus located at the southern tip of  Mumbai facing the Arabian Ocean. Mumbai formerly known as Bombay is the financial and commercial capital of India. TIFR (established in 1945) is a premier research Institute (recently it has been conferred the status of Deemed University) in India carrying out research in various areas of Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Computer Science, Technology, and Science Education. The picturesque campus has well equipped conference and lecture halls and a large modern Homi Bhabha Auditorium that will be used for plenary sessions for the conference.


Conference Program

The program included five invited speakers:

  • Olivier Ridoux: Logic Information Systems for Logic Programmers
  • Greg Morrisett: Achieving Type Safety for Low-Level Code
  • William H. Winsborough: A Logic Programming View of Authorization in Distributed Systems.
  • Maurizio Gabbrielli: Compositional Verification of Infinite State Systems.
  • Rolf Backofen: A Constraint-Based Approach to Structure Prediction for Simplified Protein Models that outperforms other existing methods.

and two tutorials

  • Frank D. Valencia: Concurrency, Time and Constraints
  • Francois Fages:Symbolic Model-Checking for Biochemical Systems

Moreover, Bart Demoen and Peter Stuckey organized a panel entitle Open Meeting on the Next LP Language.

The conference program included an Indian Classical Dance Recital and a social banquet.

Complete list of regular contributions is available from the DBLP Database

The ICLP’04 program will include five workshops. They are perhaps the best place for the presentation of preliminary work, novel ideas, and new open problems to a more focused and specialized audience. Workshops also provide a venue for presenting specialised topics and opportunities for intensive discussions and project collaboration in any areas related to logic programming, including cross-disciplinary areas.

  • Principles and Practice of Semantic Web Reasoning (PPSWR) 8th Dec 2003 – Whole Day
  • COnstraint & LOgic Programming in Security (COLOPS) 8th Dec 2003 – Morning
  • Workshop on Logic Programming Environments (WLPE) 8th Dec 2003 – Afternoon
  • Implementation of Constraint and LOgic Programming Systems (CICLOPS) 14th Dec 2003 – Whole Day
  • Software Verification and Validation (SVV) 14th Dec 2003 – Whole Day


  • General Chair: R.K. Shyamasundar  (TIFR, India)
  • Program Chair: Catuscia Palamidessi (INRIA Futurs, France)
  • Poster Chair: M.R.K. Krishna Rao  (King Fahd University of Petroleum and Minerals,  Saudi Arabia)
  • Workshop Chairs: N. Raja (TIFR, India)  and Vitor Santos Costa  (Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)
  • Publicity Chair: Jan-Georg Smaus (University of Freiburg, Germany)
  • Programming Contest Chairs: Bart Demoen (K.U. Leuven) and Phuong-Lan Nguyen
  • Program Commitee: Bart Demoen     (Catholic University of Leuven, Belgium) Agostino Dovier     (University of Udine, Italy) Mireille Ducassé     (IRISA/INSA, France) Sandro Etalle     (University of Twente and CWI, The Netherlands) Moreno Falaschi     (University of Udine, Italy) Maria García de la Banda     (Monash University, Australia) Andy King     (University of Kent, UK) Kung-Kiu Lau     (University of Manchester, UK) Catuscia Palamidessi     (INRIA Futurs, France) Enrico Pontelli     (New Mexico State University, USA) German Puebla     (Technical University of Madrid, Spain) Mario Rodriguez Artalejo     (Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain) Francesca Rossi     (University of Padova, Italy) Dietmar Seipel     (University of Würzburg, Germany) R.K. Shyamasundar     (TIFR, India) Zoltan Somogyi     (The University of Melbourne, Australia) Hudson Turner     (University of Minnesota Duluth, USA) Kazunori Ueda     (Waseda University, Japan) David Scott Warren     (University of Stony Brook and XSB, Inc., USA

PHOTO GALLERY (by Alexei A. Morozov)