Call for Participation: LPNMR 2013

12th International Conference on Logic Programming and Nonmonotonic Reasoning
LPNMR 2013
Corunna, Spain September 15-19, 2013
co-located with CLIMA’XIV and WoMO’13


LPNMR 2013 is the twelfth in the series of international meetings on logic programming and nonmonotonic reasoning. LPNMR is a forum for exchanging ideas on declarative logic programming, nonmonotonic reasoning, and knowledge representation. The aim of the conference is to facilitate interactions between those researchers and practitioners interested in the design and implementation of logic-based programming languages and database systems, and those who work in the area of knowledge representation and nonmonotonic reasoning. LPNMR strives to encompass theoretical and experimental studies that have led or will lead to the construction of systems for declarative programming and knowledge representation, as well as their use in practical applications.


Corunna is a busy port located at the entrance of an estuary on the Atlantic coast of the north-western corner of Spain. The city features a complete offer of leisure activities ranging from beach sports along the seafront that surrounds it (surfing, sailing, biking, etc) to a wide program of cultural events, an active shopping area, restaurants, tapas bars and a crowded night life. The conference will be held at the hotel Melia Maria Pita.


Early registration (extended deadline July 22nd)

  • 280 EUR regular
  • 150 EUR student

Late registration (after July 22th)

  • 340 EUR regular
  • 180 EUR student

Optional packages:

  • +30 EUR LPNMR workshops
  • +45 EUR dinner

for combined prices with CLIMA’XIV and WoMO’13 see


– The Artificial Intelligence Journal supports a provision for volunteer students to work on the registration desk in return for a waiving of the registration fee (including dinner ticket) plus accommodation. Applications should include an attached CV and be sent to [email protected] before July 21st, 2013.

– The Spanish Association for Artificial Intelligence awards the best student paper with a waiving for the student’s registration fee. If you are in conditions for participating, apart from declaring and justifying your student condition in the registration form, remember to fill the easychair ID number of your accepted paper too.

– Discounts for accommodation will also be available for students.

Please contact [email protected] for updated information and further


The complete list of accepted papers can be read from

and a preliminary programme is available at:


  • Gerhard Brewka
  • James Delgrande
  • Robert Kowalski


LPNMR-13 will be co-located with two international workshops:

    14th International Workshop on Computational Logic and Multi-Agent
    Systems (September 16-18, 2013).
  • WoMO’13
    7th Workshop on Modular Ontologies (September 15th, 2013).

As co-located events, it is possible to register for CLIMA or WoMO independently from LPNMR, or in combination with the latter.


LPNMR-13 will also include four specialized associated workshops that will be celebrated on Sunday, September 15th:

  • ARCOE-LogIC’13
    5th Intl. Workshop on Acquisition, Representation and Reasoning with Contextualized Knowledge
  • GTTV’13
    2nd Workshop on Grounding and Transformations for Theories with Variables
  • LNMR’13
    1st Workshop on Learning and Non-monotonic Reasoning
  • NLPAR’13
    1st Workshop on Natural Language Processing and Automated Reasoning


Pedro Cabalar
Tran Cao Son


Marcello Balduccini


Jose Julio Alferes, Chitta Baral, Leopoldo Bertossi, Gerhard Brewka,
Stefania Costantini, Marina De Vos, James Delgrande, Marc Denecker
Yannis Dimopoulos, Jurgen Dix, Agostino Dovier, Thomas Eiter
Esra Erdem, Wolfgang Faber, Michael Fink, Andrea Formisano
Martin Gebser, Michael Gelfond, Giovambattista Ianni, Tomi Janhunen
Antonis Kakas, Joohyung Lee, Vladimir Lifschitz, Fangzhen Lin
Jorge Lobo, Robert Mercer, Alessandra Mileo, Mauricio Osorio
Ramon Otero, David Pearce, Axel Polleres, Enrico Pontelli
Alessandro Provetti, Chiaki Sakama, Torsten Schaub, John Schlipf
Terrance Swift, Evgenia Ternovska, Hans Tompits, Mirek Truszczynski
Agustin Valverde, Kewen Wang, Yisong Wang, Stefan Woltran
Jia-Huai You, Yan Zhang, Yi Zhou


e-mail to [email protected]