CFP: WiL 2019: 3rd Women in Logic Workshop

Call for Talks and Papers          
WiL 2019: 3rd Women in Logic Workshop                    
Vancouver, Canada                      
23 June 2019

Affiliated with the Thirty-Fourth Annual ACM/IEEE Symposium on Logic in Computer Science (LICS), 24-27 June 2019 (

We are holding the third Women in Logic Workshop (WiL 2019) as a LICS associated workshop on 23 June 2019. The workshop follows the patternof meetings such as Women in Machine Learning (WiML, or Women in Engineering (WIE, that have been taking place for quite a few years.

Women are chronically underrepresented in the LiCS community. The workshop will provide an opportunity for women in the field to increase awareness of one another and one another’s work, to combat the feeling of isolation. It will also provide an environment where women can present to an audience comprising mostly women, replicating the experience that most men have at most LiCS meetings, and lowering the stress of the occasion; we hope that this will be particularly attractive to early-career women.

Previous versions of Women in Logic (Reykjavik, Iceland 2017 and Oxford, UK 2018) were very successful in showcasing women’s work and as catalysts for recognition of the need for change in the community. Our extended program committee tries to cover most areas of Logic in Computer Science.  These include but are not limited to the usual Logic in Computer Science (LICS) topics. These are: automata theory, automated deduction, categorical models and logics, concurrency and distributed computation, constraint programming, constructive mathematics, database theory, decision procedures, description logics, domain theory, finite model theory, formal aspects of program analysis, formal methods, foundations of computability, games and logic, higher-order logic, lambda and combinatory calculi, linear logic, logic in artificial intelligence, logic programming, logical aspects of bioinformatics, logical aspects of computational complexity, logical aspects of quantum computation, logical frameworks, logics of programs, modal and temporal logics, model checking, probabilistic systems, process calculi, programming language semantics, proof theory, real-time systems, reasoning about security and privacy, rewriting, type systems and type theory, and verification.


  • Anne Condon (University of British Columbia, Canada)
  • Zena Ariola (University of Oregon, USA)  


Paper submission deadline:  

7 April 2019

Author notification:  23 April 2019

Contribution for Informal Proceedings:  9 May 2019


Contributions should be written in English and can be submitted in theform of full papers (with a maximum of 10 pages), short papers (with amaximum of 5 pages), or talk abstracts (1 page).

Formatting instructions:
Papers and abstracts should beprepared using the Easychair style (

The submission should be in the form of a PDF file uploaded to the WiL2019 Easychair page ( before the submission deadline of 7 April 2019, anywhere on Earth.


We plan to publish an informal post conference volume at ENTCS orother equally visible outlet.


Since our workshop is especially keen on making sure that women get to know the work of other women, we have a large program committee.

  • Sandra Alves (Universidade do Porto, Portugal)
  • Agata Ciabattoni (TU-Wien, Austria)
  • Amy Felty (Co-Chair, University of Ottawa, Canada)
  • Maribel Fernandez (King’s College London, UK)
  • Sara Kalvala (University of Warwick, UK)
  • Delia Kesner (Université Paris Diderot, France)
  • Ursula Martin (University of Oxford, UK)
  • Valeria de Paiva (Co-Chair, Nuance, USA)
  • Catuscia Palamidessi (École Polytechnique, France)
  • Brigitte Pientka (Co-Chair, McGill University, Canada)
  • Elaine Pimentel (Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Norte, Brazil)
  • Giselle Reis (Carnegie Mellon University, Qatar)
  • Simona Ronchi Della Rocca (Università degli Studi di Torino, Italy)
  • Alexandra Silva (University College London, UK)
  • Perdita Stevens (University of Edinburgh, UK)
  • Valeria Vignudelli (Ecole Normale Supérieure de Lyon, France)