CFP: CPP 2018


The 7th ACM SIGPLAN International Conference
on Certified Programs and Proofs (CPP 2018)

co-located with POPL 2018
in cooperation with ACM SIGLOG
8-9 January, 2018, Los Angeles, USA

Certified Programs and Proofs (CPP) is an international forum on theoretical and practical topics in all areas, including computer science, mathematics, and education, that consider certification as an essential paradigm for their work. Certification here means formal, mechanized verification of some sort, preferably with production of
independently checkable certificates.


Important dates

  • Abstract submission deadline: Fri 6 Oct 2017
  • Full paper submission deadline: Wed 11 Oct 2017
  • Notification: Tue 14 Nov 2017
  • Camera-ready deadline: Fri 24 Nov 2017
  • Conference dates: Mon 8 – Tue 9 Jan 2018

Topics of interest

We welcome submissions in research areas related to formal certification of programs and proofs. The following is a suggested list of topics of interests to CPP. This is a non-exhaustive list and should be read as a guideline rather than a requirement.


  • certified or certifying programming, compilation, linking, OS kernels, runtime systems, and security monitors;
  • program logics, type systems, and semantics for certified code;
  • certified decision procedures, mathematical libraries, and
  • mathematical theorems;
  • proof assistants and proof theory;
  • new languages and tools for certified programming;
  • program analysis, program verification, and proof-carrying code;
  • certified secure protocols and transactions;
  • certificates for decision procedures, including linear algebra, polynomial systems, SAT, SMT, and unification in algebras of interest;
  • certificates for semi-decision procedures, including equality, first-order logic, and higher-order unification;
  • certificates for program termination;
  • logics for certifying concurrent and distributed programs;
  • higher-order logics, logical systems, separation logics, and logics for security;
  • teaching mathematics and computer science with proof assistants.

Submission Guidelines
Papers should be submitted in PDF format through the EasyChair submission page at

Submitted papers must be formatted following the ACM SIGPLAN Proceedings format using the sigplanconf format (not the acmart format), using 10 point font for the main text (not the default 9pt font).

Submitted papers should not exceed 12 pages, including tables and figures, but excluding bibliography. Shorter papers are welcome and will be given equal consideration.

Abstracts must be submitted by October 6, 2017 (AOE). The deadline for full papers is October 11, 2017 (AOE), and authors have the option to withdraw their papers during the window between the two.

Submissions must be written in English and provide sufficient detail to allow the program committee to assess the merits of the paper. They should begin with a succinct statement of the issues, a summary of the main results, and a brief explanation of their significance and relevance to the conference, all phrased for the non-specialist. Technical and formal developments directed to the specialist should follow. References and comparisons with related work should be included. Papers not conforming to the above requirements concerning format and length may be rejected without further consideration.

Whenever appropriate, the submission should come along with a formal development, using whatever prover, e.g., Agda, Coq, Dafny, Elf, HOL, HOL-Light, Isabelle, Lean, Matita, Mizar, NQTHM, PVS, Vampire, etc. Such formal developments must be submitted together with the paper as auxiliary material, and will be taken into account during the reviewing process.

The results must be unpublished and not submitted for publication elsewhere, including the proceedings of other published conferences or workshops. The PC chairs should be informed of closely related work submitted to a conference or journal in advance of submission. Original formal proofs of known results in mathematics or computer science are welcome. One author of each accepted paper is expected to present it at the conference.

For any questions about the formatting or submission of papers, please consult the PC chairs.

Program Committee
Reynald Affeldt (AIST, Japan)
June Andronick (Data61, CSIRO and UNSW, Australia), co-chair
Lennart Beringer (Princeton University, USA)
Jasmin Blanchette (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, Netherlands)
Sandrine Blazy (University of Rennes 1, France)
Sylvie Boldo (Inria and Université Paris-Saclay, France)
James Cheney (University of Edinburgh, UK)
Amy Felty (University of Ottawa, Canada), co-chair
Elsa Gunter (University of Illinois, USA)
Reiner Hähnle (Technical University Darmstadt, Germany)
Marieke Huisman (University of Twente, Netherlands)
Warren A. Hunt, Jr. (University of Texas Austin, USA)
Rustan Leino (Microsoft Research, USA)
Assia Mahboubi (Inria, France)
Alberto Momigliano (Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy)
Magnus Myreen (Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden)
Vivek Nigam (Federal University of Paraíba, Brazil / Fortiss, Germany)
Tobias Nipkow (Technical University Munich, Germany)
Gert Smolka (Saarland University, Germany)
Bas Spitters (Aarhus University, Denmark)
Pierre-Yves Strub (École Polytechnique, France)
Laurent Théry (Inria, France)
Josef Urban (Czech Technical University in Prague, Czech Republic)
Viktor Vafeiadis (MPI-SWS, Germany)
Stephanie Weirich (University of Pennsylvania, USA)