CFP: Workshop on Horn Clauses for Verification and Synthesis (HCVS)

3rd Workshop on Horn Clauses for Verification and Synthesis (HCVS)
Affiliated with ETAPS 2016

April 3, 2016. Eindhoven, The Netherlands

Submission deadlines:

  • abstract submission: January 25, 2016
  • paper submission: February 1, 2016
  • paper notification: February 27, 2016

Many Program Verification and Synthesis problems of interest can be modeled directly using Horn clauses, and many recent advances in the CLP and CAV communities have centered around efficiently solving problems presented as Horn clauses.

This workshop aims to bring together researchers working in the two communities of Constraint/Logic Programming (e.g. ICLP and CP) and Program Verification community (e.g. CAV, TACAS, and VMCAI) on the topic of Horn clause based analysis, verification and synthesis.

Horn clauses for verification and synthesis have been advocated by these two communities in different times and from different perspectives, and this workshop is organized to stimulate interaction and a fruitful exchange and integration of experiences.

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to the use of Horn clauses, constraints, and related formalisms in the following areas:

  • Analysis and verification of programs and systems of various kinds (e.g., imperative, object-oriented, functional, logic, higher-order, concurrent)
  • Program synthesis
  • Program testing
  • Program transformation
  • Constraint solving
  • Type systems
  • Case studies and tools
  • Challenging problems

We solicit regular papers describing theory and implementation of Horn-clause based analysis and tool descriptions. We also solicit extended abstracts describing work-in-progress, as well as presentations covering previously published results that are of interest to the workshop.

Program Committee:

  • Nikolaj Bjorner (Microsoft Research)
  • Mats Carlsson (SICS)
  • Fabio Fioravanti (University of Chieti-Pescara)
  • John Gallagher (Roskilde University and IMDEA Software Institute) – chair
  • Pierre Ganty (IMDEA Software Institute)
  • Arie Gurfinkel (Carnegie Mellon University)
  • Temesghen Kahsai (NASA Ames Research Center, Carnegie Mellon University)
  • Michael Leuschel (University of Duesseldorf)
  • David Monniaux (CNRS/Verimag)
  • Jorge A. Navas (NASA Ames Research Center)
  • Corneliu Popeea (CQSE)
  • Philipp Ruemmer (Uppsala University) – chair
  • Andrey Rybalchenko (Microsoft Research)
  • Valerio Senni (ALES Srl – United Technologies Research Center)
  • Natasha Sharygina (University of Lugano)
  • Peter Stuckey (University of Melbourne)

Submission has to be done in one of the following formats:

  • Regular papers (up to 12 pages plus bibliography, typeset in EPTCS format), which should present previously unpublished work (completed or in progress), including descriptions of research, tools, and applications.
  • Extended abstracts (up to 3 pages in EPTCS format), which describe work in progress or aim to initiate discussions.
  • Presentation-only papers, i.e., papers already submitted or presented at a conference or another workshop. Such papers can be submitted in any format, and will not be included in the workshop post-proceedings.

All submitted papers will be refereed by the program committee and will be selected for inclusion in accordance with the referee reports. Accepted regular papers and extended abstracts will be published electronically as a volume in the Electronic Proceedings in Theoretical Computer Science (EPTCS) series, see

Authors of accepted papers are required to ensure that at least one of them will be present at the workshop. Papers must be submitted through the EasyChair system using the web page: