CFP: Workshop on Horn Clauses for Verification and Synthesis

HCVS 2014
Workshop on Horn Clauses for Verification and Synthesis
July 17, 2014 · Vienna, Austria

Most Program Verification and Synthesis problems of interest can be modeled directly using Horn clauses and many recent advances in the CLP and CAV communities have centered around efficiently solving problems presented as Horn clauses.
This workshop aims to bring together researchers working in the two communities of Constraint/Logic Programming (e.g., ICLP and CP) and Program Verification community (e.g., CAV, TACAS, and VMCAI) on the topic of Horn clause based analysis, verification and synthesis.

Horn clauses for verification and synthesis have been advocated by these two communities in different times and from different perspectives and this workshop is organized to stimulate interaction and a fruitful exchange and integration of experiences.

Aims and Scope
Topics of interest include, but are not limited to the use of Horn clauses, constraints, and related formalisms in the following areas:

  • Analysis and verification of programs in various programming paradigms (e.g., imperative, object-oriented, functional, logic, higher-order, concurrent)
  • Program synthesis
  • Program testing
  • Program transformation
  • Constraint solving
  • Type systems
  • Case studies and tools
  • Challenging problems

We solicit regular papers describing theory and implementation of Horn-clause based analysis, tool descriptions and extended abstracts describing work-in-progress, and finally also position papers covering previously published results that are of interest to the workshop.

Invited Speakers

  • Daniel Kröning (University of Oxford)
  • Michael Leuschel (Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf)

Program Committee

  • Elvira Albert (Complutense University of Madrid)
  • Roberto Bagnara (University of Parma and BUGSENG)
  • Nikolaj Bjorner (Microsoft Research) – chair
  • Swarat Chaudhuri (Rice University)
  • Gregory J. Duck (National University of Singapore)
  • Fabio Fioravanti (University of Chieti-Pescara) – chair
  • John Gallagher (Roskilde University)
  • Arnaud Gotlieb (SIMULA Research Laboratory)
  • Arie Gurfinkel (Software Engineering Institute, Carnegie Mellon University)
  • Konstantin Korovin (Manchester University)
  • Viktor Kuncak (EPFL)
  • Ken McMillan (Microsoft Research)
  • Jorge A. Navas (NASA)
  • Corneliu Popeea (Technische Universität München)
  • Maurizio Proietti (IASI-CNR, Italy)
  • C. R. Ramakrishnan (University at Stony Brook)
  • Grigore Rosu (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
  • Philipp Ruemmer (Uppsala University, Department of Information Technology)
  • Andrey Rybalchenko (Microsoft Research) – chair
  • Valerio Senni (ALES srl) – chair

Important Dates

  • Submission Deadline: May   1, 2014
  • Notification: May  21, 2014
  • Camera-ready version: May  28, 2014
  • Workshop: July 17, 2014 · Vienna, Austria

Submission Format:

  • up to 12 pages plus bibliography, in EPTCS format.

Original Accepted papers will be published electronically as a volume in the Electronic Proceedings in Theoretical Computer Science (EPTCS) series, see
Authors of accepted papers are required to ensure that at least one of them will be present at the workshop.
Papers must be submitted through the EasyChair system using the web page