EAPLS PhD Award 2011: Call for Nominations

URL: http://eapls.org/pages/phd_award/

The European Association for Programming Languages and Systems has established a Best Dissertation Award in the international research area of programming languages and systems. The award will go to the PhD student who in the previous period has made the most original and influential contribution to the area. The purpose of the award is to draw attention to excellent work, to help the career of the student in question, and to promote the research field as a whole.

Eligible for the award are those who successfully defended their PhD

  • at an academic institution in Europe
  • in the field of Programming Languages and Systems
  • in the period from 1 November 2010 – 1 November 2011

Candidates for the award must be nominated by their supervisor. Nominating a candidate consists of submitting the thesis to http://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=eaplsphd2011. The nomination must be accompanied by (a zip file containing)

  • a letter from the supervisor describing why the thesis should be considered for the award;
  • a report from an independent researcher who has acted as examiner of the thesis at its defense.

The theses will be evaluated with respect to originality, influence, relevance to the field and (to a lesser degree) quality of writing.

The nominations will be evaluated and compared by an international committee of experts from across Europe. The procedure to be followed is analogous to the review phase of a conference. The justification by the supervisor and the external report will play an important role in the evaluation.

Members of the expert committee are barred from nominating their own PhD students for the award.

The award consists of a certificate announcing the winner to have received the EAPLS PhD award 2011. The supervisor will receive a copy of this certificate. If possible, the certificate will be handed out ceremonially at a suitable occasion, as for instance the ETAPS conference.

Apart from the winner, no further ranking of nominees will be published. The decision of the expert committee is final and binding, and will not be subject to discussion.

Important dates
31 December 2011: Deadline for nominations
16 March 2012:    Announcement of the award winner

Expert committee
The Expert committee consists of the following members:

  • Mark van den Brand, Universiteit Eindhoven, The Netherlands
  • Giorgio Ghelli, University of Pisa, Italy
  • Paul Klint, CWI and University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands
  • Jens Knoop, Technische Universität Wien, Austria
  • Greg Michaelson, Heriot-Watt University , Edinburgh, U.K.
  • Arend Rensink, Universiteit Twente, The Netherlands
  • Peter Van Roy, Université Catholique de Louvain, Belgium

Further members will be confirmed shortly.